Before starting to work in Multi-User mode, open an empty template and save it locally, for example, as "User-dwg".
The master model can be controlled in a local network, as well as on a ftp server (via Internet). The storage space for the master model must be available as a drive in the structure of directories.
The connection must not be a user-to-user connection.
Then, the model can be opened. Pay attention that at this point, when selecting a part of the model, like a normal AutoCAD block, the model reacts as a unit.
1) Checking out the objects completely by manual selection.
2) Checking out the objects completely using search and filter criteria.
3) Checking out the objects partially by manual selection.
4) Checking out the objects partially using search and filter criteria.
Completely checked out model objects are locked for any further use in the master model. The complete access to the properties of these model objects is available in the "Advance Properties" dialog box (Profile, Material etc.).
Model objects can be several times partially checked out.
This aspect is important for the definition of the transition area and of the transfer points between users. Partially checked out model objects can be completely modified, but the access to the object properties in the "Advance Properties" dialog box is restricted.
Blue: Axes C-D completely checked out by User 2
The model objects in the area between axes B and C can be partially checked out by User 1 and User 2 for full processing.
After selecting the model objects and confirming the selection with "Enter", the selected model objects are highlighted with contrasting colors. It is not relevant whether the model objects were partially or completely checked out. The layer-configuration of the objects is identical.
At this point the constructive editing of the selected model area can be started.
By clicking the "Turn on all objects" button, the hidden model area becomes visible again.
For both described cases a connection to the master model should be created (local network or via Internet).
The new unconnected model objects must be first transferred to the master model before checking them in, by clicking the "Add objects" button.
The selection of a specific user can be made in the following dialog box:
By selecting the corresponding users and by confirming the selection with OK", the checking out for the selected user is terminated.
All work that has as purpose the creation of fabrication documents from the model (Numbering, material lists creation, NC-files generation, drawing creation) should finally succeed exclusively for the master model. The necessary changes in the model can succeed through the user that, according to the definition of the working area, is responsible for the corresponding part.