This feature which is available when you delete an object in a detaildrawing using the "Delete" key was introduce in Advance Steel 2010, andit gives more flexibility in arranging detail drawings and customisingwhat to display in it. In AS 8.1, when you were using the "Delete" key,the respective element was hide. It was still on the drawing file, butif you had printed that drawing it won't appear in it anymore. Thisfeature is still available in A.S. 2010 but from the "AdvanceProperties" dialogue / Representation Type.
But, in A.S. 2010 the functionality of the "Delete" key was changed.Now, it will delete the respective element from the drawing. This meansthat :
- if there were hidden elements behind it, they will become visible.
- all dimensions and labels which used as reference the deleted objects should be also deleted.
- views created specifically for that object (e.g. : automatic cuts) will be deleted.
The grey box that appears around the area where the object you deletedis just a reminder that the drawing needs an update for the elements tobe removed from the drawing, and the other modification (like hiddenobjects behind becoming visible) to take place.
To restore the deleted elements, go to "Advance view properties", checkthe option : "Restore user-erased parts" (located on the bottom of thedialog) and press "Ok". The detail will get an update after which theobjects deleted should reappear.